Childbirth Education

Pregnancy and parenthood can be an exciting but daunting time! We are here to help. Our comprehensive Antenatal Classes lead by qualified Childbirth Educators will help you prepare for labour, birth and the early days with a newborn.

All Childbirth Education classes and Parent Education classes are held at the Te Awakarangi Birthing Centre (2 Connolly Street, Lower Hutt). Each Childbirth Education course runs for six weeks, one evening per week, from 6.45 pm-9.15 pm. From time to time a ‘weekend intensive’ course which runs for two full days is held on consecutive Saturdays. Check out our enrolment form for current availability.

Courses cost $220 which include a subscription to Kiwiparent magazine, discounted registration for other Parent Education Classes, Baby Factory discount, a Facebook support group and a great opportunity to meet other likeminded expectant parents and form long lasting friendships.

The course covers:

  • Nutrition and exercise during pregnancy
  • Labour signs and stages
  • Pain relief options and interventions
  • The birth process
  • Breastfeeding and newborn care
  • Transition to Parenthood and practical parenting
  • A tour of Te Awakairangi Birthing Centre and Hutt Hospital maternity unit, either physical or virtual tour

We encourage you to have completed your Antenatal Classes 6-8 weeks prior to your due date. We limit course numbers to 13 couples, so book early!

If you have any questions please feel free to email us at antenatal.lhpc@gmail.com

2020 Classes

Click on relevant date to register

Class NumberDatesDay of Week
18 January – 12 February Wednesday
216 January – 27 February *Thursday
34 February – 10 March Tuesday
44 March – 8 April Wednesday
59 April – 14 May Thursday
66 May – 10 June Wednesday
74 June – 9 July Thursday
81 July – 5 AugustWednesday
96 August – 10 September Thursday
102 September – 7 October Wednesday
1124 September – 29 October Thursday
124 November – 9 December Wednesday
1312 November – 17 December Thursday

*No class on Waitangi Day

Links


Like us on Facebook